Click on school logo

Welcome to our school website !

Click here

Senior Options
2016 - 2017


PCA Calendar 2015 - 2016

Click here

For instructions on how to proceed
Click here







Good News........ at last !

PCA New School Update April 2016

The DoES (Department of Education and Skills) at a meeting last Monday,18th April 2016, informed the Board of Management that:

  • The IDA has withdrawn its threat to object to a new school at Raheen.
  • Planning for the new school will be submitted in the next 6-8 weeks.
  • The NDFA (National Development Finance Agency) has been appointed to manage the project for the DoES.

The Board of Management has agreed the specification of rooms that allows the design team to continue to prepare for planning submission. The Board would like to thank the staff, parents and students for all their help in progressing the new school project. We will continue to keep you updated about the new school in the coming months. The main steps for the new school are:

1. Design completion (2 months)

3. Tender process (2 months)

2. Planning (3 months) 4. Build (18 months)

The timeframes given above are approximate and do not take account of delays that may occur.
Le meas
Cathal Moore
Principal / Secretary Board of Management

Congratulations to our Fasting Students April 2016
Over 300 of our students took part in the Concern Fast which was arranged by Ms. Nuala Creedon and her 4th year students.  EUR3,300 was raised as part of this excellent fundraiser for Concern’s work in the Developing World.
Back (l-r) Odhran Monaghan, Darragh Wilde, Keith Hession, Ian O’ Shea, Paul Armstrong, Jamie McDonagh, Brion Doherty, Liam Sheehan, Eamon Hickey.
Front (l-r) Emily Mogan, Aoife Tiernan, Erin McInerney, Ms. Nuala Creedon (Teacher), Ciara Kelly, Nicola Lawless, Emer Keane.   
Missing from this photo: Joseph, Gray, Gwen Horkan, Shane Kelly, Serena Lacey, Brodie Mackie, Niall Nugent, Ellen O’ Connor, Ciara Ryan, Stephanie Quinn.

Under 19 Boys Connacht Champions 2013 Under 17 Boys Connacht Runners Up 2016

Back row L to R: Brion Connolly,Hugh Lane, Brian Callanan, Oisin Connolly, Cole Connolly, Matthew Gardiner, Adam Flynn, Shane Bannon.

Middle row L to R: Mr. Finnerty, Barry Goldrick, Sean Lyons, JP McLaughlin, Eoin Lally, Oliver Rabbitte, Eoin Caulfield, Colm Kelly, Diarmuid Newell, Mr. Linnane.

Front row L to R: Fergus O Boyle, Morgan Leggett, Matthew Molloy, Colm Flynn, Ryan Shaughnessy, Cian Salmon, Aaron Leggett, Oisin Geoghegan.

Back row L to R: Declan Lally, Cillian Burke, Brion Connolly, Hugh Lane, Oisin Connolly, Matthew Gardiner, Donnachadh McCarthy, Colm Kelly.

Middle row L to R: Mr. Finnerty, Sean Lyons, Sean Coakley, JP McLaughlin, Conor Campbell, Robert Carr, Eoin Caulfield, Conor Lee, Jack Lally,Ben Creavan, Mr. Linnane.

Front row L to R: Brandon Lee, Liam Egan, Shane Quirke, Morgan Leggett, Cillian Lawless, Aaron Leggett, Cillian Lawless, Jason Gorham.

Well done to our Transition Year Gaisce Adventurers April 2016  

This year three groups of over 110 Transition Year students committed to an hour each week of voluntary work in their community, keeping fit and learning new skills.  All of the students involved have now succesfully completed their activities under the supervision of their teachers, Monica Moroney, Jason Cotter and Aine Hynes.  Over the past three weeks the students have gone on a special Adventure Journey to Lilliput Adventure Centre in Co. Westmeath where they took part in a full itinerary of land and water based activities.  Students thoroughly enjoyed their stay at the Adventure Centre.  
To view a selection of pictures from the three Gaisce Adventure Journey's, click on the link below: students will be presented with their Gaisce Bronze Medals and Certificates at a special awarding ceremony in May.
Images from the ceremony will be made available on this site.

Donal O' Shea speaks to PCA Students 6 April 2016

As part of the school's Health Promotion Campaign, Donal O' Shea visited PCA on Wednesday, 6th April and met with students to discuss
the importance of making healthy lifestyle choices

To hear a recording of the presentation click here

Dr. Conor McNamara, NUIG visited PCA to talk to students about the 1916 Rising 14/03/2016

From left: Ms. Evelyn Concannon (Deputy Principal), Mr. Colm Larkin, Eoghan Keane, Mr. Claude Geoghegan, Roisin O'Donoghue, Dr. Conor McNamara (NUIG), Finola Leahy, Mr. David Casserly, Orlaith Melia, Louis O'Hara, Jack Leech. 

: Eogan Keane, Dr. Conor McNamara (NUIG), Roisin O'Donoghue, Jack Leech, Louis O'Hara. 

PCA TY's attend Ceist Student Leadership Conference 15 March 2016


L-r Dr Marie Griffin, CEO CEIST, Justin Brown Conference Co-ordinator, Emma Coakley, Kate Gilligan, Niamh Francis, Jack Chambers TD and Eoghan O'Kelly.


Transition Years accompanied by Emer Kilgannon and Jason Cotter travelled to the National Convention Centre Friday March 11th to attend Leaders on Our Level.  A fantastic line up of speakers delivered highly motivational talks inspiring TY's to become Leaders of the future - Michael Carey Entrepreneur, Colm Cooper, Bressie, Fr. Peter McVerry, Mark Pollock and Enda McNulty from Motiv8.


Budding Entrepreneurs March 2016

Our Transition Year Enterprize students had a great day at the Local Enterprize Office's Student Enterprize Awards which were held at the Ardilaun Hotel. Students from Transition Year entered two business ideas,
Rainy Day Savings
and Turloughmore GAA Club Shop. 

Andrea Forde won a highly commended project prize worth €150 for her Turloughmore GAA Club Shop which is a not for profit business has been providing GAA sports kits. 
Well done to all invloved !


1916 Flag Ceremony Croke Park,
7 March 2016

Teachers and students of the PCA History department at the 1916 flag ceremony in Croke Park on Monday 7th March.

From left: Mr. Claude Geoghegan, Rebecca Leahy, Sean Garman, Cliodhna Kelly, Mr. Colm Larkin.